Book 1 Chapter 7 – Sakura’s Repentance and the Midnight Rampage

It was utter silence around me…

‘Am I dead?’

But, I could still feel my body…

‘Ah… I am alive…’

I woke up in daze…

And as I opened my eyes slowly, my mind was muddled by fright and uncertainty…

‘What happened to me? Did I faint again?’

I looked around me. I was inside the tent again, faint light of fire was seen from outside. An orange tiger blanket was covering me, and under my body, was the orange tiger leather that I saw back then on the river.

‘Th-This tiger leather bed….’ I was shocked as I remembered about what I imagined on that afternoon.

‘What….did he do to me?!’ I was frightened.

I started to check on my own body.

I rubbed my own face. ‘Nothing changed on my face’

Then I take a look over my body. ‘I am still wearing my shirt’

Finally, I lifted the blanket…

Then my mind came to a halt…

My eyes opened wide in shock. ‘Wh-Where is my trouser? Why am I wearing a skirt right now? D-Don’t tell me…’

“…..hiks…hiks…” I slowly sobbed as I imagined about what could have happened to me when I fainted.

‘H-He did it to me on this bed….’ I jumped out of the bed and went to the corner of the tent. I squeezed myself there and my tears were slowly dripping down from the corner of my eyes.

“Uuuuuuuuuu…” I started to cry at the corner of the tent.

‘Why would this happen to me? I-It was my first time…’

“Uuuuu……..uuaaaaaaaa….,” I wailed harder and harder.

Then suddenly, the tent’s entrance was opened.

Z crawled into the tent with a candle on his hand. “A-Are you okay?” he asked me.

My tear stopped because of fear.

He put down the candle on the edge of the tent and moved slowly to me.

I squeezed my self tighter onto the corner of the tent to avoid him.

‘I-Is he going to do that to me again??’ I thought to myself as I covered my head with both of my hand, so he couldn’t see me and I wouldn’t see him.

“S-Sakura…,” he said to me slowly.

“Hii..no!! Please don’t hurt me anymore…hiks…” I sobbed and trembled in fear.

“I didn’t do anything to you! I swear!!” he shouted to me.

‘H-He lied!!! He did that to me and doesn’t even admit it!! Where is my trouser if he didn’t do that to me?!’ I felt angry and ashamed.

“Y-You beast!! You defiled me and you didn’t even want to admit it!!” I glared at him with contempt.

His face looked really shocked…

‘See! I was right!! His reaction said it all!’

He looked down, furrowing his brows, but then, he looked at me again with a slightly angry face and said, “Am I really that low in your mind? Making a move on a fainted girl??”

I just glared at him in silence. My body shivered harder as I saw his angry face, and my tear started to pour out again.

“Please listen to me!” he shouted again.

But I just shook my head and closed my ears with both of my hand.

I just couldn’t trust him anymore.

“Uuuugh… I swear to you right now, in the name of Astraea-sama; I didn’t taint a single bit of your body, so please listen to me!”

I still shook my head. “I don’t want to hear anything anymore from you! You beast!!” I shouted at him.

“Uuugh… so I really am that low in your mind…” He threw his face down, but I could see that he was gnashing his teeth and frowning his face in anger.

But then, his face suddenly changed back to normal. Only, it looked somehow scarier. He stared straight to my face and said, “If you won’t listen to me, then I can only show it to you.”

Then he smiled and said, “[Storage]”

He took out a shortsword with his right hand. He spun it around and made a pose of stabbing downward.

“Wh-What are you doing?! A-Are you going to kill me???!!!” I shouted at him. My body shivered really hard, and my tear flew down like a river.

He didn’t answer and just kept smiling at me.

“Do you remember back then when you had a nightmare? When you hugged me, I told you that I will protect you, I really mean that…”

STAB

He suddenly stabbed down onto his left hand….

Then blood flow out…

And his pinky finger flew near my right foot…

He had cut his own finger in front of me…

My mind went blank, and my mouth gaped in shock…

‘What?’

“Will you listen to what I want to say now?” he said to me. His face turned slowly into ashen white, and beads of sweat started to flow down on his forehead. The edge of his lip was bleeding as he bit it hard to hold the pain.

But, he was still smiling at me even though the place where his finger was was bleeding hard onto the blanket under him.

I couldn’t say anything as I couldn’t think of any reason why he had done that…

I was just utterly shocked…

Thirty seconds passed… However, for the confused me, it was just a blink of an eye…

Seeing my silence, he suddenly said, “Very well then…” And he lifted the sword upwards once again.

Then…

STAB

Now, his ring finger flew to me…

And a few drips of blood smeared my face…

I felt dizzy, but…

‘Why??? Why did he do this??’ I was also confused…

“Are you satisfied now? Will you listen to me?” he asked me again with the same smile on his face.

“A..I…no..,” I just blabbed my mouth in confusion.

Hearing my answer, he then tilted his head and said, “No? So be it…”

He lifted the sword again in front of me…

No…

‘NO!’

“NO! NOOOOO!!! STOP IT!!!” I screamed at him and covered his bleeding left hand.

I didn’t know why I did something like that, nor did I know, why he had done that…

But… I just knew that I didn’t want to see him do that anymore…

Because…

It was horrifying…

It was scary…

‘Why did he do something so insane like this in front of me?’

It was confusing…

What he did was confusing to me…

But then, I remembered… “Will you listen to what I want to say now?” was what he had said to me…

‘It was all just… so I will listen to him…’

I was shocked…

‘…he cut his finger just so I will listen to him?’ I asked myself once again…

I shivered…

I was scared…

It was simply too much for me…

I started to feel dizzy and light-headed.

But then, he suddenly hugged me. “That was dangerous you know… to jump under a sword like that,” he said to me softly.

I felt his right hand behind my back…

He was embracing me in his arms…

‘Warm…’

I was surprised at myself because I didn’t try to struggle out from his embrace…

I didn’t know if it was because I didn’t have any strength left…or I just simply didn’t want to…

Well…it was…comfortable…

My fear slowly melted under the warmth of his body…

And… I slowly realized…

‘He did cut his finger so I will listen to him… but, should I?’

No…

I shouldn’t just listen to him…

I should…..trust……him….

I would…trust him…

‘He didn’t do it… he didn’t defile me…’

If he really cut his own fingers just to make me listen to him, then there was no way that he lied to me about something like that…

“I will trust you…so stop it…,” I said to him.

“I told you, don’t trust someone you just met… I just want to tell you the real story that happened this afternoon…,” he said to me slowly.

“I understand. I won’t trust anyone I just met, but I will trust you. So stop speaking and let me take care of your hand.” I pushed his body down to the blanket.

He was still smiling in pain while staring at me.

I tried to rip my own sleeve to use as a bandage, but it was too hard to do that with bare hands. I was confused, but then, I saw his bloodstained sword beside him. So, I opened my own shirt, took the sword, and cut the right sleeve. I didn’t care anymore if he saw my naked body, I just wanted to hurry and bandage his hand before he lost too much blood.

After I bandaged his hand, I put back my shirt on and looked at his condition. His face had lost its color already, and he also had fever and was breathing heavily. He already lost too much blood. Half of the orange colored blanket under him had already turned into blood red. It was painful to see.

I looked around me, and there, near my feet, I saw his two cutted finger. It lay there motionless, pale white with no more blood flowing out. I took them with my hand and grasped it tight. Then I looked onto his left hand.

There was only three finger left there…

Seeing that, I suddenly cried…

“I’m sorry Z… I’m sorry….”

‘If only I listened to him earlier…he would only lost one finger. No!! If only I listened to him without first speculating anything strange, then he wouldn’t have lost any finger!!’

I was mad at my own stupidity…

But then, I felt a hand wiping my tears. I opened my eyes and saw him caressing my right cheek with his left hand. “Don’t cry… It’s not like I am dead, it’s only two finger, nothing much! Maybe it will grow after a night sleep..” he jokingly said to me with a trembling voice.

I let my body fell and hugged him…

“Uuuuuu…” I hugged him and cried…

He stroked my head slowly over and over as he whispered to me, “Sakura… Sorry that I broke our promise to pick vegetables together…”

‘So he remembered…’

“I even brought you a magical core as an apology… so don’t cry anymore ok…[Storage]”

He took a blood-red Magical Core and put it over my hand.

I looked up to see his face. “Z you stupid…hiks…I am not a kid anymore… hiks,” I said to him while sobbing.

He just smiled and patted my head.

“I really wanted to go with you back then, but I needed to protect you first. I had to go kill a Magical Beast that was going on our direction. Sorry, it was my fault too because I lied to you.”

I silently listened to him.

“I didn’t know what you were imagining. But, back then at the riverside, I felt a Magical Beast’s mana near you, so I got scared that something had happened to you. Then, without even thinking anymore, I ran to your side. But, when I saw that you were there, safe and sound, I realized that I mistook the Magical Beast’s mana, for the mana from the Magical Core that I have given to you. Seeing that you were safe, I felt relieved that I even forgot that I was naked. I’m sorry about showing you something unsightly.”

My cheeks reddened as I remembered about what I saw.

But then, I felt sad again. My tears started to fall down onto his chest.

‘From the beginning… He had just wanted to protect me, that’s all…but I…I…didn’t even try to trust him…’

“You lost two fingers because of me…. I am sorry Z…,” I said to him as I bit my lip in regret.

“No… I lost two fingers because I lied to you…” He shook his head slowly as he rubbed my cheek.

My heart quivered. ‘I did all of that, and he still won’t blame me…’

I didn’t know what to do now. My mind was muddled with guilt and sadness.

I thought for a while as I stared at him…

The man that I just knew two days ago…

The man that gave me his clothes and lent me his one and only robe when I just came here…

The man that taught me about this world when I knew nothing…

The man that gave me his food and lent me his sleeping place when I had nothing…

The man that waited for me the whole night when I cried….

The man that always worried about me when I was sad….

The man that protected me even when I didn’t see him…

The man that sacrificed himself with only a word from me…

And…

I didn’t even try to trust him, to understand him, and to know his real self…

I trembled…

I hated myself for my naivety and stupidity…

Even though Astraea-sama already said that I could trust him…but I…

‘Is it already too late for me…?’

‘Can I still receive his kindness…?’

So I braved myself to ask him, “Z…do you…hate me now?”

He looked surprised, but then immediately shook his head and said, “I never am, and never will…”

Hearing his words, I felt unprecented happiness in my heart…

I didn’t know why…

I didn’t care…

I was happy to hear it, that’s all…

I crawled my body up until my face was straight in front of him. There was only a single finger distance between us. I could feel his breath, and he could feel mine. My tear dropped one by one onto his face.

I saw a trail of blood on the edge of his lips and thought, ‘How much pain did he have to bear until he bit his lip this hard…’

I stared at his eyes…only at this close could I clearly see them…

His eyes were deep blue…as blue as the sea…as calming as the sky…

We were staring  at each other’s eye for a long time…

Then I asked him, “Z…will you please tell me your real name?”

I saw a smile on his face when he slowly said, “…….Zedediah…..Zedediah Knightley…”

“Zedediah…,” I repeated his name slowly as I licked the trail of blood on his face and kissed the edge of his lips.

My first kiss tasted like blood, but my heart was satisfied and happy…

I woke up and put out the candle…

Then I crawled back down onto him, and rested my head on his chest…

He was motionless for a while…

Then he put his hand on my back and the other hand stroked my hair gently over and over again…

I felt the warmth of his body enveloping me…

I closed my eyes and fell asleep on him…

——————————

She already fell asleep over my body…

I stroked her hair gently with my right hand and hugged her body tighter with my left hand. The pain on my finger is not there anymore. All I could feel, was the warmth of her body on me.

I lifted my left hand in front of my eyes and stared on the places where my fingers were.

‘Two fingers…, I cutted two fingers to make her want to listen to me…’

‘Why though? Why didn’t I just wait until she is calmer?’ I asked myself.

I felt stupid…

But then, I realized…

That it was simpler than I thought…

‘So it’s like that… I already love her so much, that it pains my heart to be hated by her for even a second…. What a foolish reason…’ I mocked myself.

I looked at her sleeping face.

‘Since when though?’

I furrowed my brows and tried to think about it.

I remembered the time she fell from the sky…

The time, she was mad at me…

The time, her eyes glittered like the stars…

The time, she acted cutely to come down from the roof…

The time, we spent gazing the stars…

The time, we joked together over the carriage…

The time, she was sulking at me…

I smiled as I remembered everything that happened these two days. I stroked her head softly as I thought to myself, ‘She only needed two days to make me love her this much…’

Then I tried to remember about tonight…

‘Two fingers that I gave her… led to lots of things…’

I remembered her worried face, her body’s silhouette when she bandaged me, her hug, her tears, her eyes and her breath when she stayed in front of me, her voice when she said my name, and her kiss…

Her kiss…

Her tear tasted kiss…

The feelings of it still lingered on the edge of my lips…

My body shivered, and my heart beat faster and faster…

The feeling of her soft body over me sipped slowly deep onto my bone…

I couldn’t stop my lust from controlling my mind…

My adrenalines pumped straight into my brain…

I couldn’t stop myself hugging her tighter to my body as I imagined myself making love to her…

Then the last straw had been drawn as I remembered the moment she licked the edge of my lips while whispering my name… “Zedediah…”

‘No! I can’t do this!! I love her!!! I can’t do this to her!! I won’t betray her trust!!!!’ I bit my lips to temporary control myself.

Then I lay her down on the leather bed beside me.

“Unghh…” she frowned in her sleep.

I sat up and pulled the clean part of the blanket to cover her. Then I caressed her cheek and stroked her hair gently. After I saw her sweet sleeping face once again,  I crawled out of the tent.

I strengthen the distance of my [Mana Web] from 1 km around the camp to over 50 km around me. The High Grade Magical Beasts started to run into my direction as they wanted to eat this delicious source of mana. The Medium Grade Magical Beatsts stood in wary. And the Low Grades started to run away.

’10 medium grade, 5 high grade….’ I whispered to myself.

Then I ran to them…

One by one….

I punched through them to control my excited brain…

I stomped over them to burn out my adrenaline…

I ripped their core out to quench my desire…

I bathed in their blood to cool myself down…

And when they all died, I searched for more, further and deeper into the forest…

That night…

I rampaged to forget about my thirst of her…

I rampaged for a woman, for her…

Sakura…

Previous Chapter | Next Chapter

16 thoughts on “Book 1 Chapter 7 – Sakura’s Repentance and the Midnight Rampage

  1. . . . I thought this was a comedy/gag/romance. Now I think you are just confused. There was no reason to cut off fingers. Hurting yourself does not make you trustworthy. It makes you crazy and stupid. If anything, she should have been even more terrified and fainted again. I now give up on finding this story’s good points. I won’t comment again.

    Like

  2. Good story so far! I like your premise because it’s different to the usual… However, I have one caveat; that being the finger cutting!
    That finger amputation scene is way over the top and would honestly make him seem more like a psycho to any normal person…never mind a scared young girl!
    Not to mention that a swordsman losing fingers (even from his offhand) is more than just an inconvenience but something of a career destroyer.
    And surely this would actually weaken his ability to protect her and thus break his own promise to do just that?
    Heck, if he was that worried then why not just cut his “little brother” off instead…surely she would be completely safe then?
    Because it sounds like the local wildlife is gonna get bloodily massacred every time he starts lusting for her anyways – I mean, has he never considered just ‘rubbing one out’ like a normal guy would? Or maybe a quick dip in a cold stream?
    Mm…I’m now starting to see why he has no luck with girls…lol
    Seriously though, I really do like your tale so far – Pray carry on the good work! ^_^

    Like

    1. Why do you cut your finger?
      Zed : “Eh….Because I love her?”
      But that’s stupid.
      Zed : “Really?”
      Didn’t you even think that it would scare her instead? If she suddenly fainted, would you keep cutting your finger?
      Zed : “Now that you mention it….Well, it just….happened, I guess.”
      You stupid, did you even regret doing that?
      Zed : “No, I think I don’t, it was just two fingers, nothing big.”
      Won’t it hinder you?
      Zed : “Two fingers? I can even fight a demon without using my limbs, you think two fingers will hinder me?”
      Suit yourself, but without those fingers, it will be hard for you to rub her breasts…
      Zed : “……Shit….Whatever…by the way, Sakura…”
      Sakura : “Hmm?”
      Zed : “What does he mean by ‘rubbing one out’?”
      Sakura : “!!! You pervert!! Lecher!!” *hit *hit
      Zed : “Auuu! Eh?! Why?!!! Stop it!!”

      Like

Leave a Reply

